Archive for July, 2015

The drivers returned to Europe and the daunting Dutch Zandvoort circuit for the 2nd race of the season. Absentees were the Argentine Maserati pair of Oscar Galvez and Onofre Marimon who both had minor injuries. Their places were taken by 2 British drivers Peter Collins (HWM) and Alan Brown (Cooper) boosting the total British team contingent from 3 to 5 with 2 privateers. 

LAP 1 – Immediately as the first lap commenced, all the British teams fell apart. First the privately entered Connaught of Johnny Claes crashed out when he clipped a car ahead. Then in quick succession, the engines expired on Jean Behra’s Gordini, Roy Salvadori’s Connaught, Stirling Moss’ Cooper and Peter Collins’ HWM. At the 1st corner Tarzanbocht, Lance Macklin (HWM) crashed headlong into Alan Brown (Cooper) taking both out as they attempted to avoid Salvadori. Ken Wharton (Cooper privateer) in the last remiaing British car was the next to retire with engine problems. He was joined by Luigi Villoresi (Ferrari) Louis Rosier (Ferrari privateer) and Harry Schell (Gordini). Then at the front of the field just behind leader Juan Manuel Fangio (Maserati), Maurice Trintignant’s Gordini lost control when he drove into Mike Hawthorn’s Ferrari.  Hawthorn led the surviving cars into the second lap (gaining the bonus point for lap leader) in what was now a 2 way fight between Ferrari and Maserati.

End of lap. 1st – Hawthorn (Ferrari), 2nd – Bonetto (Maserati), 3rd – Fangio (Maserati), 4th – Ascari (Ferrari), 5th – Lang (Maserati)

LAP 2 – For the second race in succession only a handful of cars were left for the 2nd lap. Hawthorn (Ferrari) had opened up a healthy lead but couldn’t relax owing to the brutal nature of the circuit and Fangio (Maserati) keeping him honest. Ascari (Ferrari) and Lang (Maserati) were also just in contention.  Towards the back, Farina (Ferrari) and Bira (Maserati privateer) both retired with engine problems. World Champion Farina had had a very poor race and had failed to score for the second successive race. Hawthorn extended his lead while Ascari moved up to second althougfh his mount was showing some serious signs of wear. 

End of lap. 1st – Hawthorn (Ferrari), 2nd – Ascari (Ferrari), 3rd – Fangio (Maserati), 4th – Lang (Maserati), 5th – Bonetto (Maserati)

Hawthorn (just visible in the distance), nurses his Ferrari home.

Hawthorn (just visible in the distance), nurses his Ferrari home.

LAP3 – As Bonetto (Maserati) pitted prior to the final lap, news came through that de Graffenreid (Maserati privateer) who was behind him in 6th had retired just after crossing the start/finish line. This guaranteed all the remaining 5 runners points regardless of whether they finished the race. Ascari (Ferrari) who was in 2nd place retired early on with a blown engine leaving Hawthorn in the other Ferrari way out in front. The Maserati’s of Bonetto and Lang were next to go with engine problem’s. With just 2 of the original 20 runners left Hawthorn took his foot off the gas and nursed his car over the line to take a deserved win with  a huge margin over Fangio’s Maserati. This win makes Hawthorn the first Briton to win a post war race and totally vindicates his choice of manufacturer when pressure was on to remain with a British marque.




1st – Mike Hawthorn (GB) Ferrari – 9 points (8 points for the win plus bonus point for 1st lap leader)

2nd – Juan Manuel Fangio (Arg) Maserati – 6 points

3rd (DNF) – Hermann Lang (Ger) Maserati – 4 points

4th (DNF) – Felice Bonetto (IT) Maserati – 3 points

5th (DNF) – Alberto Ascari (IT) Ferrari – 2 points

Championship standings

1st – Lang (Ger) Maserati – 13 points (1 win)

2nd – Fangio (Arg) Maserati – 12 points (0 wins)

3rd – Hawthorn (GB) Ferrari – 9 points (1 win)     

NEXT – A short summer break while the Battle of Britain is played out live then – Race #3 – BELGIUM – Spa-Francorchamps. 

v2266 sqnIts that time again! The 75th Anniversary of The Battle of Britain is upon us. After 2 years of ignominious defeats its time to redress the balance. So I am placing my faith in the hands of 266 (Rhodesia) Sqn in their Spitfires and led by none other than Rotherfield’s Sqn Leader Rodney Levett Wilkinson (a recent research discovery, the real story of whom I shall publish next month).

The Sqn will be operating out of RAF Tangmere in Sector 1 of 11 Group. It has a roster of 27 pilots who prior to the Battle have scored 5 kills. Below the “kill” leader board prior to commencement of the game at 0600 hrs 11th Aug.

Sgt D E Kingaby (Br) – 3 Kills

Flt Lt N G Bowen (Br) – 1 Kill

Plt Off R M Trousdale (NZ) – 1 Kill