Battle of Britain campaign 2014 – 30th-31st Aug – ENGLAND SURRENDERS after torrid day of ignominious defeats

Posted: August 31, 2014 in Battle of Britain, RAF, wargames, West End Games
Tags: , , ,

30th Aug – Cloudy – German Effort – Light – Luftwaffe continue raids against airfields and RDF stations as a prelude to imminent invasion. RAF stretched to breaking point and forced to use increasing numbers of inexperienced replacement pilots.  

Losses RAF 10, Luftwaffe 20

Haphere31st Aug – Clear becoming cloudy then clear again – German Effort – ALL OUT – German forces throw entire weight against RAF in dramatic decisive day.  RAF desperately attempt to stem the tide and bravely fight to the last but are swept away in the maelstrom of battle.  Mosley is released from internment and immediately sets up temporary administration. Churchill with a warrant out for his arrest flees to Welsh mountains promising to organise armed  resistance. German troops land unopposed on English soil and march triumphantly into London.  Subsequent events are recounted in the film “IT HAPPENED HERE”

Losses RAF 23, Luftwaffe 81

Game notes. – The third year and the third successive defeat  which although I managed to prolong the inevitable to a record setting 31st August in the end felt like an absolute humiliation as I lost no less than 25 VP’s in a single day ending up on minus 49 points.  I had played a much more cautious game which although compared to previous games kept me in the game seriously affected my offensive strategy meaning I was nearly always having to react to events as oppose be prepared for them. Critically I was never in a position to bring in many reinforcements. Just 1 Sqn infact. The continual Luftwaffe attention on RDF and airfields meant I was without almost half of my detection stations throughout the game and never able to accurately identify potential easy gruppen to hit.  The airfield damage meant that frequently too many sqns were out of action and I had only a handful to defend with. When I did take risks they progressively ended up in disaster with the worst being losing 3 Sqns destroyed and the raid inflicting heavy damage on an airfield full of fatigued Sqns and then the secondary raid also inflicting heavy damage, 15 VP’s lost in a single raid! Just about every thing that could go wrong did go wrong on the 31st with card draws and dice rolls turning up the worst possible results over and over and over and over and over again.  At the end I was throwing in inexperienced Green Hurricane Sqns and second line aircraft units with inevitable results.  I’m finding it hard not to take this result (especially todays) personally such was the thrashing I got today but as everyone who knows me knows, its not going to put me off and tomorrow I’ll be starting all over again!

P.S. What happened to 111 Sqn? Talk about damp squib all that research for next to no result, typical!  Next year I expect much better things.    

Comments
  1. Tara Blackwell says:

    Now it’s all over you can hoover, dust and CLEAN that room….Once I who must be obeyed has inspected for cleanliness, you can play it all over again (once you’ve out your trains away……) JUST SAYING……xxxxxx

Leave a Reply

