VETOED – Logophile entry #12

Posted: February 11, 2014 in Dalek MkIII travel machine, Doctor Who, Doctor Who - Invasion Earth, Reverse the Polarity, Words
Tags:

So onto VETOED for entry #12. I also like its stem Veto. For me this is one of those grown up words that I first heard (or technically saw) as a young lad watching Doctor Who and had to ask my parents what it meant.  Re-watching the Who tv (not movie version) story “Dalek Invasion of Earth” many moons later it came flooding back to me seeing the VETOED posters splashed all over a post apocalyptic ruined London courtesy of the awesome Daleks.  I think it was meant to act as a clue for human survivors to head down to the south west of England for safety (pre-floods of course!) Best of the lot was (and this is from memory until I watch the dvd again) the one stuck under the statue of Field Marshal Haig on Whitehall near where I used to spend pointless hours of the working week trying to make a difference but that’s another story.

dalek graffiti 3 So there it is – VETOED – Forbidden, declined, rejected etc

Leave a Reply

