DAS GOLD7 – Classic series Gold Dalek Leader

First appearance 1972, Season 9, Story KKK “Day of the Daleks”. Brief cameo in 1973’s Frontier in Space.

Here we have the original gold Dalek Leader, a mightily impressive one thanks mainly to its debut which was the first time Daleks appeared in full colour (apart from the Cushing movies).  The expectation was already high thanks to the best ever Radio Times cover with a jaw dropping amazing illustration by the awesome Frank Bellamy (this guy rocks and is going into my heroes hall of fame). untitled This was my first introduction to the Daleks on tv (being before the era of videotape) and as such has a special place in my Kaled heart.  Of course everyone including myself was well aware of them owing to their infamy from the previous 9 years of mayhem but they had been on an extended sabbatical since 1967 and hadn’t graced our tv screens since.  I’m not 100% sure if we even had a colour telly then but remember the show clear as night and day as an impressionable 5 & 1/2 year old although I didn’t remember the poorly ring-modulated Dalek voices at the time. Note the solar panels in the mid section, and the über cool ford Anglia style lights/ears. I also suspect that around this time was the beginning of my glory years watching Who where family recollections of me sitting in absolute silence with my ears becoming redder and redder occasionally complimented by involuntary deep gulps at particularly frightening moments as a pre-cursor to retreating behind the sofa (I definitely did do this) have entered near mythological status. The show also debuted another spectacular colour scheme (to be revealed at a later time) and the potentially even scarier Ogrons. Now is it just me or do Peter Jackson’s incarnation of JRR Tolkien‘s Lord of The Rings Orc Uruk-Hai bear a very striking resemblance to the Ogrons? Google or look up Ogron and you’ll see what I mean. One for the bbc’s copyright dept? Back to Daleks, at the time it was this gold Dalek Leader that captured my imagination. 9-dalek-full I had never even thought about Daleks having ranks and being distinguished by colour but it worked for me. Seeing these beauties on tv for the first time although I had met them in person/dalek in a terrifying encounter at Trago Mills a few years earlier aged about 2 and to be frank, utterly sh**ing myself (thanks for that one Dad*) it inspired me to want to try to make some Daleks of my own.  In stepped Mum armed with Ski yoghurt pots, split lentils, match sticks and strange mothball type solid golf ball sized paper balls (what were they?) plus a couple of gold and silver aerosols only to be used by a responsible adult mind AND that weird fish smelling white rubbery repellent yet inexplicably strangely stickily tactile Copydex glue (the stuff with its own brush stuck on the inside red lid that was always clogged up!) I vividly remember wanting to make as many Daleks as possible resulting in a share price surge on Ski black cherry yoghurt as consumption outstripped production.  Sadly no photographic evidence exists but in my mind at the time they were almost as good as the original. So there you have it, a worthy and personal entry in my top 10.

* He of course being always right claimed that I didn’t stop nagging him to see them after finding out that it was physically possible to meet my heroes. Regardless and although I have no recollection of entering that room carried in by my Dad, I do have a very dim distant sensation about it and one that still excitedly chills my soul to the marrow.

Comments
  1. t-girl72 says:

    Awesome entry Mr B! Love the Trago Mills description too! LOL! xxxx

Leave a Reply

