ORDURE – Logophile entry #7

Posted: September 7, 2013 in musings, Words
Tags: , , ,

Ok I know its not exactly a pleasant topic and a word that comes from the French of all places but ever since I was young I heard my Dad use it to describe any form of rubbish whether it was in the garden or just as frequently the remnants of a dish of langoustine shells on his plate.  I never actually asked him what it meant but deduced it was a term for unedible food scrap left overs or similar not realising that the term is somewhat stronger than that and that it is more commonly associated describing faecal matter.  Anyway I find that since his passing I use it fairly regularly probably unconsciously as a way to keep my Dads memory alive and when I used it last night asking the waitress for a bowl for my ordure thankfully she either didn’t know the true meaning of the word or was too polite to point the potential to cause offence.  That said, I will probably use it even more now I have bothered to look up its true meaning, especially when used to describe Brighton & Hove Albion FC, the teletubby paradigm Daleks, a Fieseler Storch or Walkers/lays/pepsico crisps et al.

Ordure

Comments
  1. t-girl72 says:

    LOL!!!! That was prob why the waitress threw the bowl down at you when you asked her for one! xxxx

Leave a Reply

