We REALLY REALLY HATE Brighton – 2-0 victory over the filth 2nd leg play-off victory 13 May 2013

Posted: March 17, 2013 in Crystal Palace, musings, sport
Tags: , ,

brighton-v-crystal-palace[1]I like to regard myself as a fairly well adjusted sort of chap (ok I do talk to myself a lot but I put that down to being an only child) yet when the fixture list throws up Palace against the Seaweeds from sussex (west), in the space of a few hours I turn Jekyll and Hyde like into a stereotypical rabid football yobbo overflowing with out and out utter sheer hate towards the Sussex rivals who by some strange quirk of fate I now find being probably the nearest football club to where I live. Over the years I’ve lost count of how many people ask me bemusedly why Palace and Brighton are rivals being 50 miles apart although an infintiy in class. You’ll have to search the internet for a more coherent answer be it Venables & Mullery’s club rivalry when playing for spurs, eagles vs seagulls, mullerys £5 gesture at Palace, the cup replays and penalty victory between the 2 in the 70’s, the ease with which to get to both clubs on the london to brighton line, Henry Hughtons fair not criminal assault on some Brighton nobody, the fact both were pushing for promotion in the 79/80 season etc etc etc. But since the mid 70’s its stuck. I remember when ground sharing with Charlton and later Wimbledon how those sets of fans sang anti-Palace songs, also going to Millwall to experience their unique brand of welcome to away fans yet it pales into insignificance when compared to Brighton, infact we couldn’t give a monkeys about Wimbledon which is probably the reason why they got so annoyed as no one was interested in them. So here I am wrapping up my latest batch of worldly goods sold on ebay to make a few pennies to set aside my frail old age listening to the game on 5 live sport and so pumped up that I don’t know what to do with myself. Its so much worse when you dont have a ticket but the wife has called time on reliving the good old days and living where I do in East Sussex I haven’t discovered many other Palace fans yet and dont expect to either.

Comments
  1. Why don’t you switch to Brighton? Seeing as you are much closer to them now anyway…

    • simonsmrt says:

      Thats like you suddenly deciding you love James Nesbitt so much you want to move in with him after discovering he’s moved to Bickley fool. I’d rather sell my house, live in a fieseler storch and fly over Wimbledon with a banner saying “Lets go Andy lets go, Andy andy ra ra ra” before touching down and starting up a place to worship the unholy chin of Knightley

  2. simonsmrt says:

    Reblogged this on keepituryens and commented:

    SUCKER PUNCH! Get in. I decided to keep my powder dry after the defeat at the Gaymex in the league and then the mother of all play-off stalemates at Selhurst Park. BUT now after beating the seaweed filth at their manor for the second time in 2 seasons its time to celebrate. Even if we don’t win promotion (at the moment) I couldn’t care less. Beating your arch rivals who you utterly UTTERLY despise is ALL THAT MATTERS.

Leave a Reply

